Super Eagles boss Rohr pleased with World Cup provisional squad

Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses has been included in Nigeria’s 30-man provisional squad for Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup, but there is no place for Anderlecht’s Henry Onyekuru.

The youngster is a surprise omission but Gent winger Moses Simon made the cut.

There are call-ups for uncapped Crotone forward Simy Nwankwo and Plateau United goalkeeper Dele Ajiboye.

CSKA Moscow winger Ahmed Musa and Kano Pillars striker Junior Lokosa have also been picked.

Junior Ajayi and Olarenwaju Kayode were not given a look in by the former Niger Republic gaffer.

“It’s not been an easy squad to put together,” said Rohr in a chat with

“But I’m pleased with the squad I’ve put together and I think it’s a well-balanced squad.”

John Obi Mikel will captain the team in Russia.

“I know him as a player and a person and how committed he is to the Nigeria cause,” explained Rohr.

“He will help me build the team unity and environment we need to thrive in a tournament.”

Rohr’s wide players are Victor Moses, Simon Moses and Ahmed Musa.

There is no place for Yeni Malatyaspor’s Azubuike Okechukwu as John Obi Mikel, Joel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Wilfred Ndidi, John Ogu, Mikel Agu, Oghenekaro Etebo and Uche Agbo take the central midfield berths.

Rohr named 10 defenders, including Shehu Abdullahi and Ola Aina, who are both capable of filling more than one position.

Francis Uzoho joins Ajiboye, Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Daniel Akpeyi in the goalkeeping contingent.

“It’s a real honour for me and hopefully it’s an indication as to how far I have developed as a player,” said Uzoho to

“Playing for my country has been a dream of mine, of course it has.

“I’m under no illusions as to the quality of the other keepers. But I’m really looking forward to the World Cup preparations and getting down to some hard work.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *